Latest News

New Zealand Wanting To Continue Dominance Over Australia

New Zealand is aiming to continue its domination over Australia in junior squash as it targets its fifth win in a row in the Executive Travel Trans-Tasman Junior squash series team’s event.

The series starts tomorrow April 11th from 1pm and again the following day at Remuera Rackets Club in Auckland and features some of the rising stars of the sport.

A total of 18 players have been selected with two players each in boys and girls age groups under 13’s through to under 19’s.

The under 19 women’s players are using the series as preparation for the 2019 World Junior Women’s Championships team in Kuala Lumpur.

In the under 19 men’s category, Gabe Yam from Belmont Park Rackets Club in Auckland and Temwa Chileshe (Lugton Park Squash Club, Hamilton) are already challenging in the senior ranks around New Zealand and gaining PSA ranking points and are two of the many prospects for the future.

They along with other team members competed at the world junior champs in India last year.

“The 2019 Executive Travel Trans-Tasman Test Series team are looking forward to continuing the sequence of victories over our rivals from across the ditch. We want our players to use this tournament to continue on and become top senior players too,” said Squash NZ High Performance manager, Shelley Kitchen.

Coaches for the New Zealand teams are Nick Mita (Wellington) for the boys and Phil Buscke (Waikato) the girls coach.

After the Trans-Tasman series the 2019 Oceania Junior Championships where there are around 170 players plus coaches, officials and supporters held at the same venue 13th-16th April.

Livestream of matches at:

New Zealand team for Executive Travel Trans-Tasman squash series:



Reece Holmes - Hawera Lawn Tennis & Squash Club, Central Districts,

Oliver Dunbar – Tawa Squash Club, Wellington.


Apa Fatialofa – Henderson Squash Club, Auckland,

Tom Marshall - Marlborough College Old Boys Squash Club, Blenheim.U17


Elijah Thomas – Eden Epsom Tennis & Squash Club, Auckland,

Leo Fatialofa – Henderson Squash Club, Auckland


Gabe Yam – Belmont Park Rackets Club, Auckland,

Temwa Chileshe – Lugton Park Squash Club, Waikato



Maia Smales – Henderson Squash Club, Auckland,

Annabel Romero - SquashGym Palmerston North, Central Districts.


Sophie Hodges - Hamilton Squash & Tennis Club, Waikato.

Ella Lash – Belmont Park Rackets Club, Auckland.


Natalie Sayes - Belmont Park Rackets Club, Auckland,

Georgia Fyfe – Harcourts Eden Epsom Tennis & Squash Club, Auckland.


Anika Jackson - Hamilton Squash & Tennis Club, Hamilton,

Winona-Jo Joyce - Havelock North Squash Club, Hawke Bay,

Georgia Robcke - Hamilton Squash & Tennis Club, Waikato.

Annmarie Holst – Maungaturoto, Northland.

<< Back

Our Partners