Masters Events

Masters events are for male and female players over 35 years of age. Squash New Zealand, in partnership with host clubs, organises these events each year and each event has slightly different regulations. Check out the details on the event, upcoming event details, results, rules, past winners and how to host them below. 

Trans-tasman series masters team 2022

Masters Trans-Tasman Test Series

Test series against Australia have been played regularly between masters teams since 1984. The event is held in odd years and is held between Australia and New Zealand on alternate years. 


G.J. Gardner Homes New Zealand Masters Individual and District Teams Championships

The New Zealand Masters Championships are contested annually and represent the pinnacle of national competition for New Zealand masters. The individual championships were first played in 1982, and are for male and female players aged from 35 to 70+ years in five-year age groups.

In addition, the Christchurch Cup for the winner of the national inter-district masters competition has been contested since 1985. The national inter-district masters is played by teams of twelve players from each district - six men and six women (a player of each gender in the each of the following age groups: 35+, 40+, 45+, 50+,55+, 60+).


Masters Club Team Championships (Previously AD Long) 

The AD Long Cup has been played for by club teams since 1999. Teams are made up of four players (male and/or female) of any grade who are all members of the same club, and part of the masters age group (35+) as at the first day of the event. Clubs play ties against each other in round-robin and / or knockout format to decide the winner.

Ready for a challenge?

Search our event calendar to find an event near you or make sure you download our pocket or wall calendar from the right hand side. 

Historical Events


World Masters Games 2017

The World Masters Games is the world's largest sporting event. It comprises 28 sports played over 10 days, and is expected to draw in excess of 25,000 visitors to New Zealand!

Major Partner

Programme & Team Partners

Community & Youth Development Partner

Community Trust Supporters


Website by