Latest News

The Next Next Generation of Players

As we continue our #LoveSquash campaign this week we take a look at who will be our next next generation of squash players by looking at the Junior Development Squads.

The Junior Development Squad is aimed at developing and recognising our most talented young players and beginning them on their pathway to a future career as professional squash players.

There is both a Boys and a Girls Junior Development Squad with each squad having one lead coach and one assistant coach. The Junior Girls Development Squad is led by Graeme Randolph and assisted by Jared Gravatt, whilst the Junior Boys Development Squad is led by Robbie Wyatt and assisted by Adam Odering.

The players in each squad are as follow:

Junior Girls Development Squad

  • Genevieve Bell
  • Petra Curd-McCullough
  • Alyssa Davy
  • Hannah Dunbar
  • Shea Ferguson
  • Rakairoa Joyce
  • Anne Leakey
  • Caitlin Millard
  • Shanelle Morgan
  • Tayla Muir
  • Ashley Pepper
  • Brooke Reid
  • Anabel Romero Gemmell
  • Maia Smales
  • Chelsea Traill

Junior Boys Development Squad

  • Jack Conder
  • Liam Direen
  • Jacob Dudley
  • Oliver Dunbar
  • Liam Gale
  • Campbell Griffin
  • Braedyn Henderson
  • Reece Holmes
  • Freddie Jameson
  • Jack Lamb
  • Solomon Lewis
  • Tom Marshall
  • Paul Moran
  • Charlie Prince
  • Mark Steventon
  • Luke Steyn
  • Noah Thomas
  • Flynn Venmore

There are already some impressive achievements from our youngest players across the board. Maia Smales has claimed 3 titles to her name including the 2016 U11 NZ Junior Age Group Championships, 2017 U11 Oceania Junior Championships and the 2017 North Island Age Groups titles. Reece Holmes also has 3 titles to his name with a clean sweep of the Under 11 titles in 2017 claiming the New Zealand Junior Age Group, South Island Junior Age Group and the North Island Junior Age Group Titles.

Tom Marshall is the only other player in the squads to have claimed an international title to his name having claimed the 2018 Under 13 Oceania Junior Championships title. Freddie Jameson was the first of the group to claim an Age Group title when he took the 2015 Under 11 South Island Age Group Title, he then took his next title in 2016 where he claimed the Under 11 NZ Junior Age Group Title.

Other players in the squad who have a title to their name include Charlie Prince (2016 Under 11 South Island Age Groups), Anabel Romero-Gemmell (2017 Under 11 NZ Junior Age Group) and Noah Thomas (2017 Under 13 South Island Age Group).

We can’t wait to see what these players will achieve in the coming years but keep an eye out as they are sure to move onto big things and potentially be our next Commonwealth Games Stars!

To find out more about our High Performance Programme and our Squads check out the High Performance Squads section of our website. 

<< Back

Our Partners

Website by