Latest News

Williams and Shanks claim 2018 Auckland Open titles

Two new names will be etched onto the historic Auckland Open trophies following the final matches at the Remuera Rackets Club on Sunday afternoon.


The Women’s final pitted top seed Kaitlyn Watts (Central) against fourth seed Jo Shanks (Bay of Plenty). Shanks was out to avenge her loss to the countries’ top junior player in Watts at last year’s Senior Nationals, and both players were made to work hard in the first three games. However, the athletic Watts succumbed to a hamstring injury early in the fourth game lunging for a ball in the back corner and unfortunately was forced to retire, handing Shanks her first Auckland Open title.


The Men’s final saw top seed Evan Williams (Wellington) taking on his NZ Commonwealth Games teammate Zac Millar (Waikato). Williams made Millar work hard early in each game with some punishing rallies, forcing Millar to try and hit winners as the games wore on. Both players hit quality winners and put on some entertaining squash, with Williams ultimately too strong on the day taking the title out in three games.


A big thank you to Aileen and the team at the Remuera Rackets Club for putting on a fantastic Auckland Open, and to all 152 players who gave it their all over the five days of the tournament.


Men’s Open Final

Evan Williams beat Zac Millar – 11/8 11/6 11/6


Women’s Open Final

Jo Shanks beat Kaitlyn Watts – 9/11 11/7 7/11 2/1 retired injury


Other Division Winners

Men’s Division One – Anthony Lepper (Eden Epsom)

Men’s Division Two – Tarin Love (Eden Epsom)

Men’s Division Three – Frank Robson (Remuera)

Men’s Division Four – Abba Dassanayake (Remuera)

Men’s Division Five – Ben O’Regan (Te Awamutu)


Women’s Division One – Catherine Graham (Remuera)

Women’s Division Two – Roen Unger (Remuera)

Women’s Division Three – Danielle Duberly (North Shore)

Women’s Division Four - Anna Jowsey (Browns Bay)

<< Back

Our Partners

Website by