Latest News

Oceania Junior Championships Kickoff TTS

The 2018 Oceania Junior Championships will see 151 of the best Junior Squash players from Australia, New Zealand, Malaysia, Singapore, Papua New Guinea battle it out to become the Oceania Junior Champion in their age group.

After bringing home 8 titles in 2017 New Zealand is seeded to only bring home 4 titles in 2018.

In the Under 11 Boys event Matthew Growcott the 2017 winner is seeded to bring home the title again and will have to bring out his best against an all Australian contingent.

In the Under 13 Boys event Noah Thomas is seeded to take the title with Tom Marshall seeded second in the draw. The draw has several other New Zealand players including Freddie Jameson (5th Seed), Charlie Prince (7th Seed), Mikarore Joyce, Ratu Fugawi, Beau Pratt, Flynn Venmore and Kyle Steyn competing.

In the Under 13 Girls event Sophie Hodges is seeded to claim the title whilst Ella Lash is seeded third in the event. Petra Curd-Mccullough also joins these girls in this draw.

The Under 15 Boys event sees Riley-Jack Vette-Blomquist our highest seeded Kiwi at 4th seed and Tarin Love at 7th seed. The other Kiwis in the draw include Mason Smales, Paul Moran, Joe Smythe and Luke Steyn.

The Under 15 Girls event sees Natalie Sayes seeded 3rd and Jena Gregory seeded 4th looking to topple the top seeded Australians. Rakairoa Joyce and Leonie Marshall also join these girls in the Under 15 draw.

Glenn Templeton is seeded 4th and Elijah Thomas seeded 8th in the Boys Under 17 event. They are also joined by Henry Moran where they will face stiff competition to clinch the title.

The Under 17 Girls event sees 3rd seed Winona-Jo Joyce and 4th seed Georgia Robcke looking to claim the title for NZ. Leah Hodges (7th seed) and Eka Tabakaucoro will also show their skills in the Under 17 event.

The Under 19 Boys event sees Lwamba Chileshe taking the top seeding and potentially the title. It's brother Temwa Chileshe who takes the next highest seeding at 5th seed, followed by Sean Dykes the 8th seed. Keidah Bungard rounds out the 4 Kiwi boys in the Under 19 division with all of them set to make a strong performances in this draw.

In the Under 19 Girls event Anika Jackson takes 2nd seeding whilst Nadia Hubbard takes 3rd seed with both girls prepared to put their best forward to claim the title. Zoe Dykzeul, Courtney Trail and Ruby Turnbull will also be competing to claim this coveted title.

The full draws for the 2018 Oceania Junior Championship can be viewed here.

Follow Squash Australia on Facebook and Twitter for live updates and results. Matches will also be livestreamed on Youtube here.

The Trans-Tasman test series will take place directly after the Oceania Junior Championships. The Trans-Tasman Test Series is an annual competition between the best Junior Squash players Australian and New Zealand have to offer. 2018 will see Australia host the event at Redcliffe PCYC on 15th and 16th of January. This is the fifth installment of the event. New Zealand currently lead the head-to-head record 3-1 with Australia’s only win coming in 2014 in the first year of the test series. This year will see New Zealand seeking to extend their lead to 4-1 after having won the title 3 times already. The Trans-Tasman Test series will see two players per age group compete against each other over the two days and four players in the under 19 boys to increase their exposure to international competition leading into the World Junior Championships. View the draws, Schedule and results here.

Full New Zealand team and their release can be found here.

Good luck to all of our Kiwis competing. 

<< Back

Fans of Squash - SNZ Website Side Banner Signup

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors