Latest News

2017 Annual Awards - New Coach Award Part 4

Now we take a look at our last finalist in the New Coach of the Year Award in preparation for the 2017 Annual Awards will take place on 25th November, 6.30pm at JetPark in Auckland.

A reminder the nominations for the New Coach of the year are:

  • Emma Cormack
  • Garth Cleland & Bodean Cowley
  • Gary Prentice
  • Ian Campion
  • Luke Jones
  • Quinn Udy

To be eligible for the New Coach award coaches must have been coaching for 2 years or less at any level.

  • When deciding a judging panel considers the following:
  • Coach development - number of modules attended and other learning opportunities taken
  • Coach activity - number of hours coached and types of programmes / services offered
  • Athlete outcomes - evidence of improving players / teams performances to achieve results

Coach's impact - influence that the coach has had on participation / membership

Our last finalist is Quinn Udy. Quinn is part of the Marlborough Squash Rackets Club.

Quinn has been coaching two development squads for Squash Canterbury for the past three terms (a total of 27 weeks). These groups have around 12 junior members of both Marlborough clubs in the squads. Quinn has taken some of the juniors from E grade to C grade, but more importantly, being a junior he has inspired and motivated young players with his positive feedback and energy. His commitment to the squads has meant he has always been on time and organised with a plan, and a take home message for his juniors. Those players who have watched Quinn and realised that "doing the work" in practice will pay off on court with better performance.

Some of Quinn's best performers at a Marlborough Junior level include: Paul Moran, Henry Moran, Tom Marshall, Leonie Marshall, Ricky Wirepa, Chris Hebberd and Jack Friskin.

All of these Marlborough juniors are inspired and impressed by Quinn and his coaching skills, as he has encouraged them to pursue the best they can be on court.

Congratulations to Quinn on being a finalist in the New Coach Award.

<< Back

Club K Side Banner

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors