Latest News

2017 Annual Awards - New Coach Awards Part 3 Luke Jones 1

Today we look at our third finalist in the New Coach of the Year Award in preparation for the 2017 Annual Awards will take place on 25th November, 6.30pm at JetPark in Auckland.

A reminder the nominations for the New Coach of the year are:

  • Emma Cormack
  • Garth Cleland & Bodean Cowley
  • Gary Prentice
  • Ian Campion
  • Luke Jones
  • Quinn Udy

To be eligible for the New Coach award coaches must have been coaching for 2 years or less at any level.

When deciding a judging panel considers the following:

  • Coach development - number of modules attended and other learning opportunities taken
  • Coach activity - number of hours coached and types of programmes / services offered
  • Athlete outcomes - evidence of improving players / teams performances to achieve results
  • Coach's impact - influence that the coach has had on participation / membership

Our next finalist is Luke Jones. Luke is part of the Whangarei Squash Club after having moved from Palmerston North.

Luke's nomination reads "Northland has been lucky to have the coaching services of Luke Jones this season. Luke brings a passion for squash and coaching juniors and has a great rapport with our junior players.

Luke coaches our Northland Representative Juniors as well as Whangarei Squash Club junior players as part of WAS (Whangarei Academy of Squash). He was a Northland coach at the recent NZ Junior Age Groups coaching during the individual event as well as the teams event.

As Luke is a top New Zealand player, not long out of the junior squash scene himself, he can relate extremely well to the younger players and they enjoy his coaching style and the enthusiasm he brings to the court. His coaching input is evident into how well our Northland juniors have been performing this past season.

Congratulations to Luke on being a finalist in the New Coach Award.

<< Back

Fans of Squash - SNZ Website Side Banner Signup

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors