Latest News

2017 Annual Awards - New Coach Awards Part 2

We continue to look at the New Coach of the Year Award in preparation for the 2017 Annual Awards will take place on 25th November, 6.30pm at JetPark in Auckland.

The nominations for the New Coach of the year are:

  • Emma Cormack
  • Garth Cleland & Bodean Cowley
  • Gary Prentice
  • Ian Campion
  • Luke Jones
  • Quinn Udy

To be eligible for the New Coach award coaches must have been coaching for 2 years or less at any level.

When deciding a judging panel considers the following:

  • Coach development - number of modules attended and other learning opportunities taken
  • Coach activity - number of hours coached and types of programmes / services offered
  • Athlete outcomes - evidence of improving players / teams performances to achieve results
  • Coach's impact - influence that the coach has had on participation / membership

Our next finalist is Emma Cormack. Emma is part of the Christchurch Football Squash Club.

Emma has participated in coaching development courses this year including:

  • Mod 1 Getting Started
  • Mod 3 Big Nix
  • Ex 2 How to Coach

Emma has also had Adam Oderings (2016 Club and School Coach of the Year) guidance and assistance with being given coaching opportunities at Christchurch Football Squash Club.

Emma’s involvement in coaching includes assisting Adam every Wednesday for the Club’s junior programme which attracts 45+ juniors across three groups. Emma also provides one-on-one coaching for a number of our female junior members at our club.

Emma is incredibly encouraging to all club members when at tournaments but is very pro-active in encouraging our juniors especially the girls to achieve their own goals.

Congratulations to Emma on being a finalist in the New Coach Award.

<< Back

Squash Foundation Side Banner

Help more kiwis to play squash more often and with greater success.

Donate now

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors