Latest News

NZ Masters Nationals Champions Crowned

The 2017 New Zealand Masters Nationals Champions have been found and there were some tense matches to be had on the last day of play.

The Men’s 35+ sees a new National Champion after third seed Neil Rossin dispatched the top seed Sam Atkins in a mammoth five setter. Rossin and Atkins went game for game but it was Rossin that was eventually able to break down Atkins and claim his first Masters title. In the Women’s 35+ Shaylee Pringle from Christchurch adds her name to the list of winners for the first time, taking her win over Korina Brown in 3.

Allan Crome the top seed and Corey Love the second seed did battle in a repeat of their World Masters Games final. It was Crome that managed to repeat his title win at World Masters taking the title in 4 and claiming his first Masters title. The Women’s 40+ saw Nadine Cull take out Suk Hee Kim and claim her fourth Masters title and second 40+ title. Cull looked too strong for Kim today with Cull taking her win in 3.

In the Men’s 45+ Paul Bedford was pushed by Jason Oxenham in their final but it was Bedford who managed to get the win in 5 claiming his 3rd Masters title. Lisa Cowlard and Juli Voykovic battled it out in the Women’s 45+ but it was Cowlard who showed her strength and why she has 7 titles to her name already, claiming her final in 3.

The Men’s 50+ saw Gary Duberly reclaim his title from Grant Craig in a high intensity match seeing Duberly take a 9th Masters title. In the Women’s 50+ it was due to be a battle of the Bay with Kathryn Mckay and Vicki Beker taking to the court and it was the second year in a row that Beker clinched the title from McKay and her 5th Masters title, Beker taking her win from McKay in 4.

The Men’s 55+ saw top seed Michael White prove to be too strong for second seed Martin McKelvie taking his win in 3 giving White his second Masters title. The Women’s 55+ saw Karen Walton and Liz Hamilton doing battle and whilst Hamilton took a two game lead and looked set to take her first title it was Walton that got over the line fighting back to take her 6th Masters title with an epic 5 setter.

In the Men’s 60+ top seed Mark Waldin was also too strong for his opponent Barrie Matthews with Waldin claiming his first 60+ title and 7th Masters title. The Women’s 60+ saw Freda Walker win her final match and take out the pool play and the title making this her 8th title.

The Men’s 65+ saw Wayne Seebeck add another title to the mantelpiece after a win against Hongi Laing the second seed. The Women’s 65+ and 70+ combined to make a round robin but the matches between the 2 players in their respective age groups saw Kaye Jackson take out Judy Cooper in the 70+ age group with a win in 3 and Judy Smith defeating Diana Bennett for the 65+ title. Jackson now has 13 NZ Masters titles to her name having recently claimed the Australian 70+ title. Smith now has 3 titles to her name.

Graeme Richardson has claimed the 70+ Mens title with a win over John Rowell in 3 on Friday and has his name on the title for the second time and his second ever Masters title. In the 75+ age group Richard Purser now has a whopping 16 titles to his name after taking out the pool play.

Finals results can be found below and full results can be found on iSquash here 

Congratulations to Kawaroa Park on a great Individuals event. The teams event is underway and the first day of play results can be found here

35 – 39 years

Men Neil Rossin (Henderson) bt Sam Atkins (Thorndon) 3-2 9-15 15-7 15-10 11-15 15-9
Women Shaylee Pringle (Christchurch) bt Korina Brown (Morrinsville) 3-0 15-12 15-7 15-9

40 – 44 years

Men Allan Crome (Taupriri) bt Corey Love (Mitchell Park) 3-1 15-7 15-8 16-18 15-1
Women Nadine Cull (Taumarunui) bt Suk Hee Kim (North Shore) 3-0 15-8 17-15 15-8

45 – 49 years

Men Paul Bedford (Geyser City) bt Jason Oxenham (Mount Pleasant) 3-2 15-10 13-15 11-15 15-10 15-5
Women Lisa Cowlard (North Shore) bt Juli Voykovic (Royal Oak) 3-0 15-13 15-11 15-10

50 – 54 years

Men Gary Duberly (North Shore) bt Grant Craig (Marlborough) 3-1 9-15 16-14 15-12 15-9
Women Vicki Beker (Taupo) bt Kathryn McKay (Whakatane) 3-1 9-15 15-9 15-12 15-12

55 – 59 years

Men Michael White (Whakatane) bt Martin McKelvie (Riverton) 3-0 15-3 15-11 15-9
Women Karen Walton (Christchurch) bt Liz Hamilton (Morrinsville) 3-2 13-15 14-16 15-10 15-9 15-4

60 – 64 years

Men Mark Waldin (North Shore) bt Barrie Matthews (Lincoln) 3-0 15-8 15-9 15-10
Women Freda Walker (Christchurch Football) won round robin

65 – 69 years

Men Wayne Seebeck (Christchurch) won round robin
Women Judy Smith (Burnside) beat Diana Bennett (Devonport) 3-0 15-5 15-2 15-7

70 -74 years

Men Graeme Richardson (Remuera) beat John Rowell (Hamilton) 3-0 15-10 15-10 15-8
Women Kaye Jackson (Warkworth) bt Judy Cooper (Lugton Park) 3-0 15-12 15-5 15-9

75+ years

Men Richard Purser (Remuera) won round robin

<< Back


August 2018

    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31

= Multiple Events = Single Event

Add an Event

Fans of Squash - SNZ Website Side Banner Signup

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors