Latest News

2017 South Island Age Groups Champions Decided

The winners of the 2017 South Island Age Groups have been decided after some exciting finals on the last day of play at the Oamaru Squash and Badminton Club.

The Boys Under 19 title saw top seed Keidah Bungard and second seed Caleb Madden have a mammoth battle to determine the winner, with each player going game for game it was Madden who eventually clinched the win in 5. The Under 19 Girls saw Winona-Jo Joyce managing to topple the top seed Emma Cormack and take the title home to the North Island.

The Boys Under 17 saw two North Islanders battling it out with top seed Elijah Thomas seeking to take out second seed Kobe Fleming. It was Thomas’s day today as he claimed the win from Fleming in 3. Winona-Jo Joyce was able to claim two titles today with her win over Southland’s Anna O’Connor, with Joyce taking the win in 3 in the Under 17 Girl’s division.

It was also a double title for the top seed Elijah Thomas who proved too strong for third seed Solomon Lewis with Thomas claiming the Under 15 title in 3. The Under 15 Girls saw top seed Natalie Sayes take out second seed Martha Toghill in pool play to claim the Under 15 title.

The Under 13 Boys title saw top seed Noah Thomas take out second seed and South Islander Tom Marshall in 4 and making it 3 titles heading back to the Thomas household. In the Under 13 Girls Natalie Sayes proved to be too strong for her fellow North Islander Rakairoa Joyce with Sayes claiming her second title in 3.

The Under 11 Boys saw top seed Oliver Dunbar and second seed Reece Holmes have a mammoth battle going to five to claim the title. It was Holmes that was able to eventually claim the win in an enthralling five setter. The Under 11 Girls saw Neve Cowley claim her win on the final day and take out the round robin to take her title.

Draws for the Boys Under 11, 15, 17 and 19 Divisions and Girls Under 19 and 17 can be found on iSquash. The Boys Under 13 and Girls Under 11, 13 and 15 can be found below.

A big thanks to the Oamaru Squash and Badminton Club for hosting this event.


Under 19 Boys
(2) Caleb Madden won Round Robin

Under 19 Girls
(2) Winona-Jo Joyce won Round Robin

Under 17 Boys
(1) Elijah Thomas bt (2) Kobe Fleming - 11/5, 11/9, 11/7

Under 17 Girls
(1) Winona-Jo Joyce bt (2) Anna O’Connor - 11/2, 11/1, 11/6

Under 15 Boys
(1) Elijah Thomas bt (3) Solomon Lewis - 11/2, 11/1, 11/6

Under 15 Girls
Natalie Sayes won in Pool Play

Under 13 Boys
(1) Noah Thomas bt (2) Tom Marshall - 11/7, 11/7, 7/11, 11/9

Under 13 Girls
(1) Natalie Sayes bt (2) Rakairoa Joyce - 11/2, 11/2, 11/6

Under 11 Boys
(2) Reece Holmes bt (1) Oliver Dunbar – 11/8, 11/8, 11/13, 3/11, 12/10

Under 11 Girls
Neve Cowley won Round Robin

<< Back


June 2018

        1 2 3
4 5 6 7 8 9 10
11 12 13 14 15 16 17
18 19 20 21 22 23 24
25 26 27 28 29 30

= Multiple Events = Single Event

Add an Event

Squash Foundation Side Banner

Help more kiwis to play squash more often and with greater success.

Donate now

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors