National Awards

Rob Roche Award (Meritorious Service to Masters)

This Award was donated in 2004 by Rob Roche. It aims to recognise a valuable contribution to the delivery of Masters Squash in New Zealand - by player, coach, referee, administrator or any other person or club.  

Rob Roche was a tireless leader in the small group who started masters squash in New Zealand in the early 1980s. His enthusiasm, locally and in group tours overseas, was infectious. In only a few years he and his group established national and regional tournaments with an annual home and away test series against Australia. Rob was also an accomplished and determined player winning two NZ Masters Championships.

Judging Criteria

It is awarded by the Squash New Zealand Masters Director - annually or as appropriate - and is presented at the National Masters Championships.

2017 Winner

The Rob Roche Award for Meritorious Service to Masters Squash Winner: Lawrence Skurr

This years recipient of the prestigious trophy has a long involvement in our beloved game beginning as a junior in 1968 representing his district throughout seniors and masters, which if you do your sums is 49 years of active service.

He is a former President of his district and has been a Senior Squash Administrator and Selector on and off for many years, as well as a Senior and Masters District Manager, and was a foundation member of the 2008 World Masters Squash Championships.

He has represented his district at 20 masters events, and has been a New Zealand Masters test team representative 8 times against our old foes Australia in 95, 96, 99, 2000, 2001, 2005, 2009, & 2015 winning more than losing.

He is the owner of 2 Australian Masters Titles and 8 NZ Masters Titles, was a quarter finalist at the 2014 British Open and has been to seven World Masters events making the quarter finals four times, results achieved based on a strong physical work ethic and singled mindedness on the court, never letting himself or his team mates down.



Previous Winners

Year Rob Roche Award Winner
2017 Lawrence Skurr, Canterbury
2016 Ian Gunthorp, Auckland
2015 Kaye Jackson, Auckland
2014 Maurie Peters, Auckland
2013 Len and Pauline Stachurski, Central
2012 Trevor Colyer, Bay of Plenty
2011 Richard Purser, Auckland
2010 Judy Cooper, Waikato
2009 Barry Gardiner, Canterbury
2008 Len Reese, Canterbury
2007 Rob Roche, Auckland
2006 Sandra Tinkler, Wellington
2005 Jenny Webster, Auckland
2004 Gower Dallimore, Auckland

<< Back

Squash Foundation Side Banner

Help more kiwis to play squash more often and with greater success.

Donate now

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors