National Awards

Club of the Year

Clubs play an important role in society. They draw people together, they help to knit communities and they provide a place where people can enjoy themselves both on and off the squash courts.

Established in 1998 and open to all affiliated squash clubs within New Zealand, the Club of the Year award recognises clubs for their valuable contribution and achievement in the delivery of community squash.

Judging Criteria                   

Winners from each of the 11 regional District Associations are put forward as contenders for the coveted National Award, which is aligned with the Squash New Zealand Strategic Plan: 'Squash on the Move'.

When deciding a judging panel considers the contribution to and achievements in the following objectives:

  • Participation Growth - increasing the number of people playing and participating in community squash
  • International Success - club members achieving success at significant regional / national events
  • Welcoming Facilities - improving the condition, accessibility and utilisation of club spaces and places
  • Financial Health - governing and managing the club to provide financial sustainability
  • Unified Delivery - working with the District and Squash New Zealand to deliver squash in the community

2017 Nominations

Nominate your Club of the Year. Make a nomination

2016 Winner

Club of the Year: Hamilton Squash and Tennis Club

The Hamilton Squash and Tennis Club membership grew by 73 on previous year, for a number of reasons:

  • Local schools utilise the club facility for their programmes during and out of school time.
  • A coaching programme is offered every morning during the week with up to 12 players taking part, as well as other daytime and evening sessions.
  • The club hosted the Waikato ‘have a go day’.
  • A variety of programmes are run, including business house, club nights, leagues and juniors.
  • Coach and referee development workshops have also been ran at the club during the year.
  • The club also hosted a number of local, regional and national events during the year and had several members represent the club and District as players, coaches, referees and administrators.
  • Two players competed in the Oceania Junior age groups and several made the New Zealand Secondary schools team.
  • There were several facility upgrades - carpet installed in the entrance foyer and changing rooms; walls were painted throughout, an honours wall was put up in the reception area and 9 tonnes of rubbish was removed from store rooms.
  • The club utilises mentor volunteers and follows a successful new member engagement process, getting more people involved.
  • Hamilton Squash and Tennis have now repaid their long term loan and reduced the list of creditors through creating commercial sponsorships with a number of businesses.

HSTC Club of the Year

The finalists for 2016, in alphabetical order, were:

  • Hamilton Squash and Tennis Club
  • Mana Squash Club
  • Mount Maunganui Squash Club
  • Royal Oak Racquets Club

Previous Winners

Year Club of the Year
2016 Hamilton Squash & Tennis
2015 Ohakune
2014 Squash City Invercargill
2013 Whangarei
2012 Devoy Squash & Fitness
2011 Manurewa
2010 United Matamata
2009 Te Puke
2008 Otago University
2007 Wellsford
2006 Otago University
2005 Squash Palmerston North
2004 Tauranga
2003 Kaikoura
2002 Squash Palmerston North
2001 Royal Oak
2000 Squash Palmerston North
1999 Okato
1998 Ashburton
1997 Reporoa
1996 Herne Bay
1993 Morrinsville
1992 North Shore
1991 Invercargill
1990 Waiuku
1989 Te Kuiti
1988 Te Aroha

<< Back

November 2017

    1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30

= Multiple Events = Single Event

Add an Event

Club K Side Banner

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors