National Awards

Chairman's Award

The Chairman's Award was established in 2002 when Squash New Zealand changed their structure to an Executive Board with a Chairman. The Award is designed to recognise outstanding contribution to squash and the final selection is made by the current Squash New Zealand Chairman.

Judging Criteria

The Award recipient is chosen by the Chairman of Squash New Zealand.

2017 Winner

Chairman's Award Winner: Paul Coll & Joelle King

Not only do Paul and Joelle continue to perform on the tough world stage, they are also great ambassadors for New Zealand squash and great role models for younger players who aspire to go places in squash. They are joint winners of the 2017 Chair’s award.

Paul has climbed from 20 at the start of 2017 to #9 - a fantastic achievement going along with his gold and bronze medals at the World Doubles.

Other significant results:

  • Quarter finalist – TOC, El Gouna, St. Georges Hill
  • Semi-finalist – Canary Wharf, China Open

Joelle has been consistently in the top 10 and her comeback from a devastating achilles injury has been an amazing achievement capped off with a world ranking of #9 and 2 x gold medals at the World Doubles in August this year.

Other significant results:

  • Quarter finalist – Hong Kong
  • Semi-finalist – US Open, Texas Open, China Open
  • Runner up – Carol Weymuller, Macau Open
  • Currently 4th= on the PSA World Series Standings


Chairmans Award World Doubles Team

Previous Winners

Year Chairman's Award
2017 Paul Coll and Joelle King for World Rankings of #9 and Gold and Bronze World Doubles Medals
2016 World Doubles Team (Joelle King, Amanda Landers-Murphy, Paul Coll, Campbell Grayson and Glen Wilson) - for winning gold medals in the mixed and women’s events and a bronze medal in the men’s event at the WSF World Doubles Championships in Darwin, Australia.
2015 Kashif Shuja - for his voluntary involvement in improving the high performance programme and supporting players throughout New Zealand with advice and motivation.
2014 Dave Clarke - for developing the Coach Development Framework and providing specialist doubles coaching, including attending his fourth Commonwealth Games as a coach / manager.
2013 Grant Smith - for contributions at Central Squash, the Squash New Zealand Hall of Fame, World Squash AGM and Conference and SquashGym Palmerston North.
2012 Tauranga Squash Club relocation committee - for building a new facility after 10 years of hard work.
2011 Joseph Romanos - for putting together "Long or Short: The History of New Zealand Squash".
2010 New Zealand Commonwealth Games Team - for outstanding achievement.
2009 Wayne Werder, Mike Flood-Smith and Dave Clarke - for hosting a successful Festival of Squash.
2008 Barry Gardiner, Burnside
2007 Gerard De Courcy, Otago
2006 World Junior Boys Committee, Palmerston North - for hosting a successful World Junior Boys Championship.
2005 Steve Scott, Collegians
2004 Grant Smith, Palmerston North
2003 Jim O'Grady, Riccarton
2002 Steve Scott, Collegians

<< Back

TPL Campaign

Follow us

Major Sponsors

Category Sponsors